Struggling At-Home Learners

  • In accordance with the Texas Education Agency, Little Elm ISD offers both In-School Learning and At-Home Learning for the 2020-2021 School Year due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. As such, LEISD must ensure our families have access to remote instruction unless the district determines that the student’s attendance and/or academic performance, in one or more classes, puts them at risk of significant learning loss.

    Little Elm ISD has developed the following criteria to determine when students enrolled in At-Home Learning are struggling academically and/or with attendance to the degree that students must return to In-School Learning.

Immediate Return to In-School Learning

  • Beginning with the second semester, January 6, 2021

    • Grades PK-2 (Standards Based Grading)
      • Based on the Standards Based report cards/progress report, students who scored below grade level expectations (more than 30% of standards resulting in scores of 1’s or 2’s) in reading or math

    • Grades 3-8
      • Student has a 69 or below in one or more core class on a report card or progress report: Reading, Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, or
      • In grades 6-8, a 69 or below in any high school credit course on a report card or progress report

    • Grades 9-12
      • Student has a 69 or below in one or more classes on a report card or progress report

    *For return to school on January 6, the following grading cycles will be considered: 1st Quarter Report Card (dated on or about 10/20/2020) and/or Progress Report 1 of the 2nd Grading Cycle (dated on or about 11/10/2020). Thereafter, notices will be issued based on the 2nd progress report of each grading cycle. 

    Additionally, beginning in the Spring semester, students will return to In-School Learning immediately once they have received 5 or more unexcused absences in a 9-week grading cycle.

Learning Environment Change or Appeal

  • If a parent or guardian wishes to appeal the requirement for their child to return to In-School Learning, they may appeal in one of the two following ways.  Parents or guardians must appeal within 10 calendar days of receipt of notice to return to In-School Learning.

    1. Submitting a medical exemption.  Parents or guardians must email this exemption request to the campus principal, along with the TEA medical authorization form signed by physician.
    2. Requesting a transition meeting. Parents or guardians must email a request for a transition meeting to the campus principal or house principal at the secondary level. The campus will schedule the transition meeting with no less than 3 days notice, and must allow the student to continue to learn remotely until the transition meeting has been held. 

    If the parent or guardian does not appeal, the student will return to In-School Learning on the date designated by the campus in the notice to return to In-School Learning.  

    If a parent or guardian appeals by requesting a transition meeting, the parent or guardian must provide sufficient evidence that the student can be successful learning from home.  If the evidence does not support continuation of learning from home, the student will return to In-School Learning on the date designated by the campus.  

    To request a meeting about your child’s at-home learning, please contact:
    Elementary:
    Brent - Michael Bruno - mbruno@littleelmisd.net
    Chavez - Audra Vandiver - avandiver@littleelmisd.net
    Hackberry - Jill Whitehead - jwhitehead@littleelmisd.net
    Lakeview - Sara Head - shead@littleelmisd.net
    Oak Point - Marcia Torres - mtorres@littleelmisd.net
    Prestwick - Marnie Richardson - mrichardson@littleelmisd.net

    Secondary:
    Strike Middle School - 
    Christopher Reza (A-K) - creza@littleelmisd.net
    Marina Matus de Garcia (L-Z) - mmatusdegarcia@littleelmisd.net

    Walker Middle School - 
    Jennie Petrasic (A-L) - jpetrasic@littleelmisd.net
    Felipe Vargas (M-Z) - fvargas@littleelmisd.net

    Little Elm High School - 
    Gerald Muhammad (A-E) - gmuhammad@littleelmisd.net
    Marzia Infante (F-LI) - minfante@littleelmisd.net
    Kyle Heller (LO-RI) - kheller@littleelmisd.net
    Fernando Ocampo (RO-Z) - focampo@littleelmisd.net

    AIMS/GOALS/DAEP - Bill Bush - bbush@littleelmisd.net