Return to Headlines

Little Elm ISD Selected for TEA Blended Learning Grant

October 23, 2020

Little Elm ISD was recently notified it was one of 16 Texas school districts out of more than 1,200 in the state to be selected for a grant from the Texas Education Agency. This grant is designed to support an incentive that would boost blended learning capabilities for students in the subject of math.


“This TEA grant will make it possible to provide a blended-learning experience for all Little Elm ISD K-8 campuses that will deliver personalized learning for students, campus guidance, and coaching support for teachers,” said Janel Madeley, K-12 math coordinator for Little Elm ISD. Madeley will serve as the project manager who will focus on developing the learning processes and campus support.


Blended Learning combines face-to-face instruction with online learning by leveraging technology to assist teachers in diagnosing student prior knowledge, differentiation of academic paths for each student, and adjusting lesson execution based on real-time information about student mastery. 


The BLGP offers options for district participation in math (through Math Innovation Zones), and in non-math subjects (through non-math blended learning pilots). Little Elm ISD’s grant will fund Math Innovation Zones through a four-year process to design, launch, and scale a high-quality blended learning program for K-8 math in a feeder pattern that focuses on fidelity of implementation in both planning and execution. 


Little Elm ISD will receive $125,000 the first year and $100,000 for the next two years for a total of $325,000 to implement the Math Learning Zones.


Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Learning, Dr. Cyndy Mika said this grant is a win for the students. “We are extremely excited to be awarded this grant. We believe this grant is aligned with our District cornerstones that will help us focus on the intentional design of rigorous, relevant, and engaging lessons in every classroom, no matter if a student is in our building are learning at home.”


The BLGP committee members in the District are:

Dr. Cyndy Mika, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Learning

Doug Sevier, Director for Curriculum and Learning

Jeff Wiseman, Director for Digital Learning

Amanda Ball, Director for Advanced Academics and Professional Learning

Christine Gibson, Principal for Prestwick Elementary

Stephen Richardson, Principal for Hackberry Elementary

Kori Werth, Principal for Oak Point Elementary

Kelley Carr, Principal for Walker Middle School

Kelly Hastings, Principal for Strike Middle School

Sara Head, Assistant Principal for Lakeview Elementary

Audra Vandiver, Assistant Principal for Chavez Elementary

Michael Bruno, Assistant Principal for Brent Elementary. 


For more information on BLGP, visit TEA Math Innovation Zone BLGP