Skip To Main Content

Acceleration by Exam


Kindergarten through GRADE 12

Acceleration by Exam (grade skipping) provides an opportunity to earn grade level or course credit in which no prior formal instruction was completed. AE is designed for a very small percentage of learners who have both the academic and emotional need to advance a course. Acceleration by Exam is not designed for grade level recovery when a student is retained in a previous grade level. Students must demonstrate mastery of 80% or higher on an AE to earn credit.

The only students who should take an exam for acceleration are those who display an extremely advanced level of understanding of the learning objectives assessed on the AE which will be the grade level/course above the grade level/course in which your child is currently enrolled.


ELEMENTARY Acceleration Exam

A student in Grade K-5 may be accelerated one grade level upon meeting all of the following requirements:

  • Elementary students (grades K – 5), will take a total of four tests to advance one grade level. It is suggested not to take more than two exams a day.

  • The student scores 80% or above on each of the criterion-referenced tests in language arts, science, and social studies for the grade level he or she wishes to advance.

  • A school district representative recommends acceleration of the student.

  • A parent/guardian approves acceleration of the student

There is no appeal process for acceleration


SECONDARY Acceleration by Exam (without prior instruction)

Acceleration without prior instruction allows students to advance a grade level, to progress to more challenging courses, or demonstrate mastery of content they already know. A student in Grade 6-12 may be accelerated one grade level or may skip one course upon meeting all of the following requirements:

  • Students must score 80% or higher on all portions of the exam. 

  • Students will take an exam for each semester and course for which they wish to skip. (example: a student wishing to skip 7th grade will take 8 exams) 

  • Students in grades 6-12 may advance one grade level or course per testing window

There is no limit to how many grade levels or courses a student may advance through Acceleration by Examination.